Present.

present “The present is always perfect. No matter how happy I had been in the past I do not long for it. The present is always the moment for which I live. The future I never long for, it will come or it will not; one day it will not. But it does not loom up before me, I am never in a state of anticipation. The future is not even a black space above the sky, with an intermittent spark of light; it is more  like a room with no ceiling or floor or walls, it is the present that gives it such  a shape, it is the present that encloses it. The past is a room full of baggage and rubbish and sometimes things are of use, but if they are of real use, I have kept them.”

– Xuela Claudette Richardson in The Autobiography of My Mother

by Jamaica Kincaid.

Present.

Leave a Reply

