Young Spirit // Lingyi Lu

Lingyi

The moth is October and a new young spirit, Lingyi Lu, who will tell us about the importance of following your dreams and how she hopes to contribute to society.

Do you have any interests? 
Yes, I like music and playing badminton. I began to play the piano when I was four years old. At the first my parents pushed me into playing the piano but then in 6th grade my other friends began to appreciate the instrument and I too started to like the piano more.

Lingyi ChinaLL hong kong 

You have been an intern in China this summer, how did that feel? 
It was quiet interesting  and different but most of all it was instructive since you experience a new environment. Previously I had an internship at a Swedish bank and it is hard to compare Sweden with China on a work level. The companies in China are more specific and coherent when it comes to their guidelines/rules and their expectations on the employer and how each individual employer can reach the aims. Regular control is another thing that distinguish China from Sweden. Swedish companies tend to address the workers with a supervisor and when problem arise you are expected to tell your supervisor or present it in the meetings. In contrast, in China you are taught to approach the head manager and ask for advice and feedback.

Lingyi England

This fall you are also moving to England.
It is going to be fun and I am pretty excited about it especially when I am studying subjects that I prefer, behavioral economics and other subject on a broader international level. Above that it will be fun to learn about a new culture and enhance my English.  When I come back I most defiantly hope to achieve a personal development as well, and that I have reached an increased cultural knowledge about England. Let us not forget about the education, I hope I learn a lot. (laughter) Other than that, meeting new inspiring people is something I look forward to. My first weeks on collage will be a chaos with lots of activities and social gatherings.

lingyi family

This is also the first time I am away from my family for such long period of time, usually I visit my parents once in a month and now I will be away for six months straight!

“It is a big step but a necessary one.”

My parents are quiet protecting and I would like stand on my own feet, and step in to the more adult side of life which means higher responsibility and freedom.

How do you see the adult side of life?
I see responsibility, which I have experienced when moving away from my family a  year ago to a different city.

“More freedom means more responsibility. “

To be able to follow your own heart and the things you see as meaningful.

Lingyi2

What is your goal in life the coming three years?
First of all, I would like complete my education and I would like to have a stable foundation. I have different plans that continue to change but one thing is certain I want do something that is meaningful for me, which is to help other people and contribute to the society.

Many people note that education does not give so much in order to enhance your knowledge but is a way to determine your ambition and effort. Often work is not any like the theory we learn about in school. I hope that the company that I decide to join has the same values and aims as I have, which is to help people and not only concern about the profit. I also know that it might be a bit naive have such high expectations on a company therefore I plan to work voluntarily as an side project. Education is going to help me to provide the help I would like to give.

Lingyi strong

When are you the strongest?
I am the strongest when I am surrounded by people that I love but also

“…when I dare to step outside my comfort zone.”

I have been trying to gradually to step outside my comfort zone and one of the things was to get my own place, and eventually moving to a new country.

Conversely, when you are the the weakest? 
When I get uncertain about what I want in life and its purpose. I have always been purposeful and when I can not see the aim I can feel a bit lost.

“However, I know that I want to do something meaningful and I believe I will find my passion.”

Have you ever thought about the meaning of life?
I believe it is a quiet personal thing and I can not speak for everyone. In my view I think the purpose in life is to contribute with something for the human kind and feel like you are doing something meaningful.

Describe life with one word.
Ruff.

[Noting in life is free and if you really want it and fight for it, you will achieve it.]

Lingyi in teen years.
I hope I will not be too old. Hopefully have a well balanced life and that my education have been meaningful. Last but not least, I hope to have develop and evaluated when it comes to things in my personal life.

 Which methods do you plan to contribute to society?
I have had different potential ideas or strategies, both big and small dreams depending on how strong I felt that moment. (laughter) Education is one way since children are the future society. Then I would contribute by being a teacher. At the same time, my parents are teachers as well and I feel that I am limiting myself if I choose the same path as them.

A more bigger dream would be that I am working for an international organization and be able to affect more in general. For an instance, fight for children´s rights.

Many young people have it hard to have dreams and aims in life, do you have any advice? 
I sometimes have the same problem and I use to look back in life and the achievement I have done, I believe the clues are there. I once heard an UN speaker say that a person will eventually find their core. I read the term ‘core’ as the passion one has in life and the thing you want to continue doing the rest of your life.

“I think that you can find the clues in your past that point out what really means a lot for you.”

Though,  there could be a chance that you have not get come across your passion before.  However, I usually reflect back in time and try to see the things that mattered the most for me and which parts you would like to include in your future.

child LingyiLingyi close up

Do you feel you are more consciousnesses than when you were younger?
I have thought a lot about how I am as an individual and I am not yet there. Though, I think there is a link between what I think is the purpose of my life and who I believe I am. Again, I try to reflect back and think in which situation I felt genuine and myself.

During my first year at University  as a mentor where I helped children what had parents no academic education. My aim was to motivate them to  study and fight. It felt meaningful and something I would like to do more of, I was happy to see the children every week and see them develop.

Key features to help children.
I think that first thing that is essential when it comes to educating children is to provide them with good self-esteem.

“The children need to know that they can do it and never ever tell them that they can not achieve a specific goal.”

Secondly, some children need that extra push from the teacher. A teacher that tells the child that they can do it if they really try and that the teacher is there for them for guidance.

I would like the children to be able to analyze and critic more.

Do you have any expectations on the world? 
I have lots of expectations on the world, I hope that our society becomes more human and that people take upon the concept of civil courage and help each other. Also, I would like to see a more environmental and sustainable development.

Any last words.

 ” One can not always be right, it is about daring to make mistakes. Take one step at a time and you will come a long way in life. Last but not least, dare to dream.”

 

Young Spirit // Lingyi Lu

Leave a Reply

