Young Spirit // Jesper Lindholm

Jesper Lindholm


SONY DSC

Another month and a new young spirit, Jesper Lindholm.

988415_709486119073393_1786731524_n1jesper

You were elected to chairman for SSU Driktet in march, how did that feel?
It is something that I have thought about for a year and when the person that matter a lot for me tells me that I am the right person for this assignment it motivated me to give it a try and do it. I am glad to have gained the trust of our members, which are all passionate and have lots of opinions. Achieving their trust means a lot for me, especially when you have the opportunity to work with individuals that are engaged, smart and different.

The reason for that I chose to be part of this union is the values that SSU stands for, thinking about creating a fair welfare with equality.

jesper work

When did the interest to involve  yourself in politician begin?
My interest in politics have always been there as long as I have had a conscious about politics. In the beginning when I became aware, maybe five to six years ago, I might not have considered myself to be the one that change it all.  However, I noticed that a lot of people have much to say. My father had a strong opinion about what was right and wrong, the moral part, the importance of taking care of each other, standing up for the weak society. That the society should be seen as something that favor the normal individual, which is the biggest majority. That had a great impact on me.

jesper grandfather

But also other things that my mother and her father, my grandfather, said about taking care of the nature, about not throwing trash and sometimes my grandfather would even pick it up himself if he saw trash in the parks.

“The principle that we are more than just ourselves and our own life,  and that our daily life is not only about us but is about seeing other people in it and be there for the society.”

SONY DSCSONY DSC

Can one say that your parents and grandparents have a large part impact on the person you have become today?
I can definitely say that they have played a big and vital role on how I am as a person now.

“The older I have become, the more aware I am of how my closest relatives have affected me both in a good way and bad way.”

I always had the picture of myself as a independent and ambitious person because want it. Though, the older I become I notice that I have been ambitious and productive in order to get their approval.  So I told myself, they are already happy with me, my performance should not determine our relationship. And the relation with what I want to do and my performance should depend on what makes me happy and what I want to do for my own sake.

jesper batman

Do you have other interests?
Yes, ( A determined yes followed with laughter.)
There is still hope. I love to read and watch movies. Music plays an important role in my life, it makes me think about something else, it transforms my thoughts in to words. The lyrics is also important when it comes to the music I listen to but also the construction of the song, the melody. Since I love to dance and work out, music that is fast and has a good beat is always good. Running is another thing that I like,  Dancing and running with good music is a way for me to feel free and it  gives me energy in a life that is otherwise stressful.

The reason I like running is that I like to do something physical. To discuss with people about vital questions, issues and studying is all mental activities. Doing something physical that is about me feels so good. Especially during the run when it is all about achieving small and simple goals as being able to run up a hill. It is a activity that demands concentration and is a challenge, which I prefer. Running also gives me energy and combined with the music I get a kick.

SONY DSC

Talking about feelings, when do you feel the strongest and the weakest?
When I overcome my weakness, that is when I feel the strongest, My weakness….is that I think it is important to get other people´s approval and the fact that their opinions affects me a lot. So I feel the best and the strongest when I maybe get critique for something I do and that I in that moment is able to stop myself from getting upset. Instead I tell myself that I want something different  and that I am determined that it is right,  and when i am able to still stand up for what I think, that is when I feel the strongest. Another occasion is when i just feel like relaxing and tell myself, that this very moment is good, it is enough, I do not need to constantly do mentally exhausting tasks,  It is enough to go away to the countryside with some friends or just drink tea in the sofa. And feel like that is enough.

SONY DSC

You are strong now, doing this interview.
It is nice to hear because I think it is good.

“In the end it is not about what other people think about me but what matters is that I and other people, that have similar challenges is conscious about this, work on this for our own sake. Talking with you now, is actually a way is to take control over that pattern.”

jesper ny

Many people hold themselves back due to the fear of what other people might think.
Yes, and that people have the urge to interact with each other, which is something that is not beyond our personalities or lives, is normal. It is not possible to get away from our relations or how other people affect and determine how we see ourselves.

jesper lead

Now that you are chairman for a big organization, can one say that it helped you to develop?
Yes.
It happened pretty fast since you quickly need to step in to a new role, where there is a lot of expectations on how you should be, there is heavy and big work tasks that you must be able to handle. This tasks involves other smart people, that have different desires. They will always want to affect you in one way or another. Then it is important to instead of trying to please everyone, realize that it will never happen that everyone is satisfied, which can be really hard. It can make you upset but to turn it all around and to tell yourself that people will never be happy, is something that  now calms me down and where I can gain strength. A feature that been my weakness, to get people´s approval, is something that I can turn around.

“There will always be people who is not happy.”

My new role demands me to quickly change my mind and stop looking for miracles that satisfy everyone and instead stand up for what I believe in.

What is your goal with this project?
To be honest, during my time as chairman I hope to do big progress, gain more members, discuss question which play a vital role for us, as feminism, anti-racism and that the party will fight to build more housings for young people. To make sure that we develop the economic politics from this decade and not talk about theories from past time. And also too think different and take steps towards the direction we would like to go.

Buzzword for your time as a chairman.
Era-change. (Epokskifte.)

jesper self consious

Are you more self-conscious now?  
I am and I think it is important, compared to some years ago the scrutinizing I do on myself go deeper now.  And that I  now also try to break destructive patterns which I before was conscious about but did not have the energy to fight against.

jesper mickey

Tell me more about Jesper in teen years.
The way that I need to be to feel good. To give me that acceptance to myself is important for me. I do not want to set up different picture of myself and demands. I believe that I will be a good person if I continue to reflect myself and that I believe in myself, have conversations with others,  and listen to people that matters to me. But how it all end or is in teen years is something I leave Jesper in teen years examine himself.

Daily-life planing?
I try to take week for week. In general, for organizations, at work or projects but also our private life, our relationship with people, if it is about big things that need a lot of effort and time to develop it is unfair to ourselves to think at this very moment that we should know how to handle it all, that we need to know every single step towards the goal. It is very common that we end up thinking that we should know everything, then it is very important to break the goal in to small goals, think about what can be done this week, which people do I need to talk with now, if it is possible then fine continue to the next. We do not need to have a solution right away, it is good to know what we want but we should do the best of what we have.

“Give ourselves the chance to figure out the path. We should stop stress ourselves with the thought of having miracle solution right away.”

jesper batman two

When is Jesper satisfied?
I have it hard to be satisfied. I constantly think ahead of time, the moment I achieve the goal I am already planning my next goal and how to achieve it.

“When I was younger I used to think that the glass was half empty but now I begin learn myself that the glass is half full.”

We should give ourselves some credit and see that great effort will lead to success.

jesper life

Describe life with one word.
Rich. (Rikt)

Have you ever thought of the purpose of life and in that case would you like to share your thoughts?
Absolutely, I think it has to be very individual. With that said, it can be seen through two perspectives. My own purpose of life but you can also discuss the question in general. We all want a purpose. It is a big question.

It is individual and we should give life a possibility to create a meaningful purpose which makes life good right now and today. That is what I think is vital. When we think about the purpose of life, that there is a risk that we only think about the final product of life. Thinking about what we have achieved, what we will leave behind instead of thinking  that the meaning of life should start in life from beginning to end, that the meaning of life is with us everyday and every year. This makes life rich. Because if we set our mind on one single thing that we only can experience during a limited time of life, we lose a lot of the real life.

“The purpose of life should change with the paste that we change.”

 A good day is when…
Either it is planed which means that I am active in something stimulating and it could be that I have a politically good discussion, that we achieve a result that change people´s daily life and the society. Or it an be completely unplanned, which I also love, to wake up and stay in bed for a long time and be with a very good friend that you can laugh and fool around with , dance, listen to music, be active outside, take long walks or visit something cultural.

The song you heard before this interview.
First Aid Kit – Silver Lining

Lunch – Dinner
Spring – Fall 
Movie – Books

SONY DSCSONY DSC

Your last word to the people reading this. 

“Be bold to hold up and think about yourself, why you do as you do, be bold enough to let go of those thoughts that hold you back and just go for it.”

Young Spirit // Jesper Lindholm

Leave a Reply

